Sunshine Weekly Weeder

08.23.12
www.sunshinecommunitygardens.org


TSBVI WORKDAYS THIS WEEKEND

Please join us this weekend, August 25th and 26th, beginning at 8:30 am on Saturday, to prepare the TSBVI plot for the students returning to school. The paths need weeding, and we will be removing the weed cloth and laying down new gravel. If we don't finish on Saturday, we'll continue on Sunday.

This is a great way to fulfill your TSBVI hour. Bring your work gloves and water. If you have any questions, please contact Janet Adams, jartdaht@gmail.com.



WHAT IS A COMMUNITY GARDEN?

It is a garden where people come together and work as a team for a common goal. At Sunshine Community Gardens (SCG) we transform several acres of TSBVI state property into a garden site which provides vegetables and fruits. It brings together people of various cultures and an awareness of our environment. We have no staff; therefore, members are expected to share in the maintenance of the garden by doing volunteer service hours. If we do not do the work, who will? The site rules are necessary to help us form the SCG community. Let us all participate in making our membership in SCG a fun and rewarding gardening experience. Letís get gardening!

Contributed by Emily Tisinger


GARDENERS-ONLY FALL PLANT SALE

Sunshine Garden is going to have a small fall vegetable sale for Sunshine Gardeners ONLY as a source of healthy fall transplants. The sale is tentatively scheduled for the last weekend in September. Please let Ila Falvey, ila.falvey@gmail.com, know if you are interested in buying plants so she can make an estimate of how many plants to get. Selections will include colored cauliflower, kale, broccoli, Brussels sprouts and other greens.



HOMEGROWN - Good Sense Organic Gardening

From Judy Barrett: For those of you who have been missing Homegrown (known variously as "that little newsletter," "your magazine," and that publication you used to do," we are working on a Version 2.0 which will be all online and free. Send in your email address sent to HomegrownTexas@yahoo.com, and Judy will put you on the list to receive lots of information, gossip, gardening tips and other stuff you remember fondly from Homegrown . . . or are curious about now!

-- Judy Barrett
www.HomegrownTexas.com


Austin Organic Gardeners Club

Our summer heat seems to be on the way out and it is time to think fall. On September 10th, Patty Leander, Master Gardener, vegetable specialist, speaker, author, and gardener for over 30 years will speak to the Austin Organic Gardeners Club. The meeting is held at Austin Area Garden Center, 2220 Barton Springs Rd, in Zilker Botanical Gardens. Doors open at 6:30 pm for the opportunity to meet and mingle with local gardeners; club business begins at 7 pm, followed by our guest speaker's presentation. Website: www.austinorganicgardeners.org.



GARDENING SEMINARS AND EVENTS
Sponsored by Travis County Master Gardeners Association and the Travis County AgriLife Extension. Free and open to the public. For more information, go to: http://travis-tx.tamu.edu/horticulture.

Divide and Transplant Perennials>
Thursday, September 20, 10am-12pm
Travis County AgriLife Extension Office
1600-B Smith Road

Compost Tea 101
Saturday, September 29, 10:30am-12:30pm
Hampton Branch Library at Oakhill
5125 Convict Hill Road



CALENDAR OF EVENTS

Contact Information

Jack McEvoy, President - scgpresident@gmail.com
Jeff Schulz, Vice President - vice-pres@sunshinecommunitygarden.org
Jack Reynolds, Treasurer - scgtreasurer1@gmail.com
Ila Falvey, Director - ila.falvey@gmail.com
Sue Brownlee, Secretary - scgsecretary@gmail.com
Michael Hall, Director - fibercable@austin.rr.com

Coordinators & Chairs

Zone 1, Patsy Painter - patsy_painter@yahoo.com
Zone 2, Katy Davis - katydavis@austin.rr.com
Zone 3, Ludmila Voskov- lvoskov@austin.rr.com
Zone 4, Ila Falvey - ila.falvey@gmail.com
Zone 5, Mary Gifford - mgifford@austin.rr.com

Zone 6, Annik Jackson - anij@aol.com
Zone 7, Diana Dworaczyk - dianadworaczyk@aol.com
Zone 8, Felicia Kongable - feliciako@yahoo.com
Zone 9, Cheryl Hazeltine - cph@austin.rr.com
Zone 10, Emily Tisinger - etisinger@gmail.com

Plant Sale -Michael Hallfibercable@austin.rr.com

TSBVI Liaison & Volunteer Coordinators
Mike Meyer meyermic2001@yahoo.com
Carpentry & Repairs - Robert Jarry - r.jarry@sbcglobal.net
Compost - Tools & Wheelbarrows - Bob Easter - beaster1@austin.rr.com
Maintenance Coordinator - Website Coordinators - Kathleen Neville - lolsen@suddenlink.net

Record Service Hours Online - the Virtual Green Binder

To unsubcribe send a message to:scgsecretary@gmail.com



Sunshine Community Gardens
www.sunshinecommunitygardens.org