Sunshine Weekly Weeder

09.13.12
www.sunshinecommunitygardens.org


WORKDAY - BUILD A GARDEN PLOT FOR THE PHYSICALLY CHALLENGED
Saturday, September 15, 9am - 12 noon


Come help construct a garden plot designed to be accessible to physically challenged gardeners in honor of Vernon Barker (a long-time Sunshine gardener who passed away last year). This Saturday's workday will feature the construction of 24 high raised beds to allow people in wheel chairs, with back, or other elasticity problems the opportunity to do a little gardening. And for those of you who are up for a workout: come help dig a trench for a new waterline for the plot, to be located between the plots east of the tool shed and the parking area.

Any questions? Contact Steven Uecker at steven_uecker@hotmail.com.

Please note that the second workday, scheduled for Sunday, September 16, has been cancelled. Another workday will be scheduled at a later date to complete the construction work on the plot, lay down the pathways, and set up and fill the raised beds.



FALL TRANSPLANTS - LAST CALL for pre-orders

Last call to pre-order transplant for the fall. Gardeners who expressed an interest in ordering should have received an order form.

If you are interested and do not have an order form, please contact Ila Falvey at ila.falvey@gmail.com. Deadline for ordering is September 14.

Plants will be available at 8 o'clock on September 29th.



ALL GARDENERS MEETING - Saturday, September 29

Time: 10 AM
Place: the Garden Trailer



TSBVI PATH MAINTENANCE WORK DAYS - August 25-26

Thanks to everyone who came out to the TSBVI work days on August 25-26. We had a great turnout of enthusiastic volunteers who removed the weed cloth and weeds from the pathways of the TSBVI plot, just in time for the students to take over the management of it. Thanks to Janet Adams and Randy Thompson for overseeing the work.

On a related note, now that the students are back, watering and weeding their beds does NOT count as TSBVI service hours. However, weeding the pathways DOES count and is an ongoing chore. Let's not let the Bermuda and other weeds get a foothold in the plot again.



TSBVI Plant Sale for school staff and Sunshine Gardeners - October 6th and 7th

The TSBVI students have been growing vegetable transplants and pansies in the greenhouse and are planning to hold a plant sale for TSBVI staff. Sunshine gardeners, of course, are welcome as well.

The sale will be in the school's greenhouse on Saturday, Oct. 6 and Sunday, Oct. 7 from 8am to 2pm.

All plants will be $1 each.

Plants available for sale:
Pacman Broccoli
Marathon Broccoli
Snowball Cauliflower
Amazing Cauliflower
Emerald Cross Cabbage
Ruby Perfection Cabbage
Mixed Pansies



GARDENING SEMINARS AND EVENTS
Sponsored by Travis County Master Gardeners Association and the Travis County AgriLife Extension. Free and open to the public. For more information, go to: http://travis-tx.tamu.edu/horticulture.

Divide and Transplant Perennials
Thursday, September 20, 10am-12pm
Travis County AgriLife Extension Office
1600-B Smith Road

Compost Tea 101
Saturday, September 29, 10:30am-12:30pm
Hampton Branch Library at Oakhill
5125 Convict Hill Road



CALENDAR OF EVENTS


Contact Information

Jack McEvoy, President - scgpresident@gmail.com
Jeff Schulz, Vice President - vice-pres@sunshinecommunitygarden.org
Jack Reynolds, Treasurer - scgtreasurer1@gmail.com
Ila Falvey, Director - ila.falvey@gmail.com
Sue Brownlee, Secretary - scgsecretary@gmail.com
Michael Hall, Director - fibercable@austin.rr.com

Coordinators & Chairs

Zone 1, Patsy Painter - patsy_painter@yahoo.com
Zone 2, Katy Davis - katydavis@austin.rr.com
Zone 3, Ludmila Voskov- lvoskov@austin.rr.com
Zone 4, Ila Falvey - ila.falvey@gmail.com
Zone 5, Mary Gifford - mgifford@austin.rr.com

Zone 6, Annik Jackson - anij@aol.com
Zone 7, Diana Dworaczyk - dianadworaczyk@aol.com
Zone 8, Felicia Kongable - feliciako@yahoo.com
Zone 9, Cheryl Hazeltine - cph@austin.rr.com
Zone 10, Emily Tisinger - etisinger@gmail.com

Plant Sale -Michael Hallfibercable@austin.rr.com

Carpentry & Repairs - Robert Jarry - r.jarry@sbcglobal.net
Tools & Wheelbarrows - Bob Easter - beaster1@austin.rr.com
Maintenance Coordinator - Ila Falvey - ila.falvey@gmail.com
Website Coordinators - Kathleen Neville - lolsen@suddenlink.net

Record Service Hours Online - the Virtual Green Binder

To unsubcribe send a message to:scgsecretary@gmail.com



Sunshine Community Gardens
www.sunshinecommunitygardens.org